A Florida fishing license is required by most people for most fishing activities, but there are exceptions such as fishing charters and some piers, whose commercial licenses should cover you.
There are also exceptions for seniors who are Florida residents and children.
How about you? Do you need one?
Who does not need a Florida fishing license?
Florida residents under 16 or 65+
If you are under 16 or a resident senior 65 or older, no physical license is required. Seniors are required, however, to have proof age and proof of residency. A driver’s license will suffice, but you can obtain a physical fishing license at no cost.
Residents or non-residents on a licensed charter and most public piers
Charter captains have a boat license that covers all anglers on board, resident or non-resident. Most pier operators also carry a blanket license to cover fishing from the pier. However, a personal license is required on piers where an operator or manager is not physically present to control access to the pier.
Residents fishing from shore in their home county with a cane pole or line without a retrieval mechanism
Any resident fishing for recreational purposes within their county of residence with live or natural bait, using a cane pole or a plain fishing line not equipped with a retrieval mechanism, such as a Cuban Yoyo (commonly known as a Cuba rig). The exemption applies to both salt and freshwater.
For example, if you are fishing from shore with a “Cuba rig” using live bait, such as a worm or a minnow, you do not need a license.
Do you need a Florida fishing license in saltwater from shore? Maybe.
Florida residents fish free from shore but still need a license
Saltwater fishing from shore is free year around for Florida residents of all ages, but you must obtain a free license and have it in your possession if you are between the ages of 16 and 65. The shore license includes piers, bridges and jetties.
The shore license does not cover anyone fishing from a boat or from an island where they arrived by boat.
Children under 16 and seniors 65 and over do not need a license of any kind for fishing, but they must have proof of age.
Non-residents must always have a license to fish from shore
Non-residents are not eligible for the shore license and must buy a full saltwater license to fish from shore, a jetty, bridge or a pier that does not have a commercial license.
Do you need a Florida fishing license in saltwater from an island? Yes but…
If you are a resident and walked to the island and expect to walk out with your fish, you do need a shore license but it’s free. If you arrive at the island by boat or plan to leave by boat, or if you are a non-resident, then you must have a saltwater fishing license.
What does a saltwater Florida fishing license cover?
A saltwater fishing license is required to take — or attempt to take — any saltwater fish, crabs, clams, scallops, marine plants or other saltwater organisms (except non-living seashells and lionfish with certain gear).
If you have a fishing pole in your possession near water, it is assumed you are fishing and you are required to have a license, whether or not you are catching fish.
A Florida fishing license is required to land any saltwater species in Florida regardless of where they are caught — even in federal waters.
How much does a saltwater Florida fishing license cost?
- Resident Annual: $37
- Non-Resident 3-Day license: $17
- Non-Resident 7-Day license: $50.00
- Non-Resident Annual license: $67.00
Do you need a Florida fishing license in fresh water from shore or boat?
Both residents and non-residents are required to carry a valid freshwater Florida fishing license to fish in freshwater, whether you are fishing from the shore, from a boat, from a dock, jetty or from a pier.
Exceptions are for anglers under 16, resident or non-resident, and Florida residents 65 and over.
Another exception is for residents fishing in their home county with live or natural bait, using poles or lines that are not equipped with a “fishing-line-retrieval mechanism” (a reel), and you are fishing for noncommercial purposes.
An uncommon exception is for residents fishing from their home property, or in a private pond entirely surrounded by the property of a single owner.
Residents freshwater Florida fishing license (all ages)
- Resident annual (all ages) — $17
- Resident five-year (all ages) — $79
Florida resident seniors 65 and over may obtain a Silver Sportsman license, which provides a free hard copy license for freshwater fishing as well as a hunting licenses and permits for Wildlife Management Areas. This license does not include saltwater license.
- Annual Resident Silver Sportsman’s 64+: $13.50
- Five-Year Resident Silver Sportsman’s 64+: $61.50
Non-resident freshwater Florida fishing license (all ages)
- Non-resident, 3-Day: $17
- Non-resident, 7-Day: $30
- Non-resident, Annual: $47
Why do I need permits if I already have a Florida fishing license?
Special permits, in addition to a license, are required for certain species: snook, Florida spiny lobster and tarpon, whether you are are a resident or non-resident angler.
- Annual snook permits: $10
- Five-year snook permits: $50 (Florida residents only)
- Annual spiny lobster permits: $5
- Five-year spiny lobster permits: $25 (Florida residents only)
- Tarpon tag: $51.50
Special permits (free) are also required for shore-based shark fishing, blue crab traps and stone crab traps. The only exemption is for children under 16.
License-Free Fishing Days in Florida
Every year, the Florida Fish and Wildlife Commission sets aside eight (8) days to encourage Florida residents to get out and fish without a license.
- June 3 & 4, 2023. (First consecutive Saturday and Sunday in June.)
- Sept. 2, 2023. (First Saturday in September.)
- Nov. 25, 2023. (Saturday following Thanksgiving.)
- April 1 & 2, 2023. (First consecutive Saturday and Sunday in April.)
- June 10 & 11, 2023. (Second consecutive Saturday and Sunday in June.)
Where to purchase a Florida fishing license
You can also purchase a license by phone at 888-FISH-FLORIDA (888-347-4356). Have a pen ready to write down your license number. Your license will be sent via snail mail, but you can fish right away.
Proceeds from fishing licenses go toward wildlife conservation efforts.
Related articles on Florida Rambler
7 favorite places for fishing in Florida
Tips for hiring a fishing charter in Florida Keys
The information in this article was accurate when published but may change without notice. Confirm details when planning visits.
This page may include affiliate links from which we earn modest commissions. These earnings support our costs to produce free content. Thank you for your support! 🙂
This article is property of FloridaRambler.com, protected by U.S. Copyright Law. Re-publication without written permission is against the law.
Bob Rountree is a beach bum, angler and camper who has explored Florida for decades. No adventure is complete without a scenic paddle trail or unpaved road to nowhere. Bob co-founded FloridaRambler.com with fellow journalist Bonnie Gross 12 years ago.
Thursday 9th of September 2021
Great info for visitors and Floridians alike who don’t know about or how to access “myfwc.com”. FWC has a decent iPhone/Android app. For this and more.